Are pennies gonna go extinct?

The US Mint announced it will end production of the US penny in 2023.

---

Maybe eventually. A search of google will reveal an April Fools post indicating that the U.S. Mint will stop production in 20 23, and a bunch of copycats that took that as real information (or just good click bait).