When was the first root beer float?

The root beer float was invented by Robert McCay Green in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, in 1874. He ran a soda fountain at the Franklin Institute's semicentennial celebration & wanted to create a new treat to attract customers away from other, larger vendors. After experimenting, Voila.

---

Frank J. Wisner, owner of Colorado’s Cripple Creek Brewing, is credited for the first root beer float in 1893. There are three other claimants for the root beer float. Fred Sanders, Philip Mohr and George Guy, Guy is said to have mistakenly mixed ice cream and soda in 1872,to his customer's delight.