Who won the land that became arlington national cemetery?

George Washington Parke Custis. More than three million people visit the cemetery annually. The Arlington estate was originally owned by George Washington Parke Custis, adopted grandson of George Washington. His daughter Mary Anna Randolph Custis, who married Robert E. Lee, inherited the estate.