What does the name ava mean?

The name Ava has several possible meanings since its origins are unclear. Its roots could be from the Germanic word aval, meaning "guarantee." In Latin, avis means "bird, birdlike." The name might also be a version of Eve, which comes from the Hebrew name Havva, meaning "life or lively".