Are gophers and groundhogs the same animal?

The typical gopher is the pocket gopher, a small fossorial creature. Groundhogs are considered part of the marmot group, which contains 14 species. Groundhogs belong to the order Sciuromorpha, family Sciuridae, which includes squirrels, chipmunks, marmots and prairie dogs.