What is fantasmagory?

Dreamlike visions can be called a phantasmagoria. If you've experienced a very high fever, you might have seen a phantasmagoria. It also means popular 18th & 19th century form of theatre entertainment where ghostly images are formed & increase or diminish in size, pass into each other, dissolve, etc