How do you know if a snake is venomous?

Generally, the eyes of venomous snakes have slitted pupils, and a double row of scales down the back. Non-venomous have round pupils and a single row. However, there are exceptions to both rules. The only sure way is to either know your snake species, or let the snake bite you and see if you die.