What religion was mesopotamia?

Mesopotamian religion was polytheistic, with several main gods & thousands of minor gods. Each city had its own patron god or goddess. Foundational Mesopotamian religious stories such as those about the Garden of Eden, the Flood, and the Tower of Babel may be familiar to Jews, Christians & Muslims.