How much caffeine is in a cup of tea?

A cup of brewed green tea contains about 27 mg of caffeine. A cup of black tea has 48. A cup of coffee has twice that amount, 96 mg. Caffeine in tea is released more gradually, avoiding the "jolt" of caffeine you get from coffee