What are all the phases of the moon?

The moon phases are new Moon, waxing crescent Moon, first quarter Moon, waxing gibbous Moon, full Moon, waning gibbous Moon, last quarter Moon, and waning crescent Moon. This is based on the sunlit portion of the moon as viewed from earth.