What's upside down pineapple mean?

An upside-down cake is a cake that is baked "upside-down" in a single pan, with its toppings, such as pineapple, at the bottom of the pan. When the finished upside-down cake is flipped over on to a plate, thus "righting" it, it is served right-side up.