When was the frankfurter invented?

Frankfurt am Main, Germany, claims frankfurters, very popular at beer gardens, were invented there in 1404. In the 1900s, these “dachshund sausages” arrived & were sold all over from food carts by 1890. Charles Fentman was first to serve “hot dogs” on rolls with sauerkraut on NYC sidewalks in 1867.