What does the suffix in the word ravenous mean?

The O U S ending in ravenous functions to mean "in the condition of." For ravenous, it means "in the condition of ravening" where "ravening" is "acting or feeling wild with hunger." So O U S makes ravenous mean "in the condition of being wild with hunger."