What side of the civil war was missouri on?

Although a Border state with mixed loyalties, Missouri was considered a Union state, with the Confederate government only able to function in exile for the duration of the war. As such nearly 110,000 men fought for the Union, although about 40,000 others from the state served the Confederacy.