Is karate chinese or japanese?

Karate originated on the island of Okinawa. While that is now a part of Japan, they were influenced by China and the martial art includes some techniques from Chinese Kung Fu.

---

At first glance, Karate might be considered a Japanese martial art, but the word literally means "China hand" and find its origins in Southern China, within two martial traditions: Shaolin and White Crane Kung-Fu.