Why do green beans spark in the microwave?

Dense vegetables such as green beans, carrots, spinach, and green peppers contain a higher amount of minerals in them than other types of food. These minerals - which include iron, magnesium, and selenium – act like tiny pieces of metal and create what is known as an “arcing effect” in microwave