What is a bessy bug?

Betsy bug, also called “Bessie bug” or “Bess bug,” refers to the 1.5-inch-long, shiny black beetle (Odontotaenius disjunctus), also called a patent leather beetle, horn beetle, horned passalus, or pinch bug.