How did the ice age start?

Asteroid hit earth starting the ice age.

---

There are several possible causes for the 5 major ice ages on the Earth since its formation. Some of these are, variations in Earths orbit, variations in the suns energy output, movement of the continents, volcanism, changes in Earth's atmosphere, and changes in ocean currents.