Where does the name coleslaw come from?

The term "coleslaw" arose in the 18th century as an anglicisation of the Dutch term "koolsla" ("kool" in Dutch sounds like "cole") meaning "cabbage salad". The "cole" part of the word comes from the Latin colis, meaning "cabbage".