Can chickens live without their heads?

No, a chicken with it's head cut off may still run around or flap its wings with reflexive movement for a few moments, but it is effectively dead.

---

One chicken lived without its head for 18 months! That's what happened to the famous Miracle Mike or Mike the Headless Chicken in 1945, in Colorado, USA. This was a freakish incident in which the farmer who chopped off the chicken's head missed the jugular vein.