Is tung oil food safe?

Pure tung oil is considered a food safe finish for cooking items such as cutting board, salad bowls and wooden utensils. Many brands are mixed with VOCs and other oils that are not food safe. As a wood finish it is easy to apply but requires five or more coats to protect wood surfaces.