Was missouri a free state or a slave state?

Missouri was a slave state at the start of the Civil war. In1863, Lincoln freed slaves with the Emancipation Proclamation. Two years later, Missouri approved abolishing slavery on January 11th, 1885. This ended slavery forever in Missouri.