Is aladdin a fairy tale?

The story of Aladdin is considered a fairy tale. It is set 'long ago' and involves magic and a genie who grants wishes. The oldest known version of the story was included in a book of tales entitled The Thousand and One Nights which was published in the early 1700s in Paris.