What does it mean when a home is contingent?

Contingent offer means owner has accepted a price, but buyer placed a stipulation on the deal. Std contingencies would include things like a home inspection & financing. U may opt to make an offer with sale & settlement stipulation that your offer is contingent on selling your existing home. .