What is operation overlord?

Operation Overlord is the code name for the allied offensive to retake Normandy from the Germans. It commenced with the D Day landings on June 6, 1944, the largest seaborne invasion in history. Operation Overlord concluded on August 30, 1944 when the Germans retreated East across the Seine river.