Do rattlesnakes bite?

Yes, rattlesnakes do bite. They have fangs and inject venom. However they usually only bite humans when they are stepped on and try to give clear warning by rattling their tails. So watch where you are stepping!

---

Their bites are responsible for 99% of the 300,000 estimated venomous snake bites sustained by domestic animals every year. Pit vipers include rattlesnakes, copperheads and cottonmouths. Rattlesnakes are reportedly the most common biters among these.