Do rattlesnakes bite?

Their bites are responsible for 99% of the 300,000 estimated venomous snake bites sustained by domestic animals every year. Pit vipers include rattlesnakes, copperheads and cottonmouths. Rattlesnakes are reportedly the most common biters among these.