Why do they call a widow's peak a widow's peak?

A widow's peak is a descending V-shaped point in the middle of the hairline, above the forehead. The trait is inherited genetically. The term comes from English folklore, where it was believed that this formation was a sign of a woman who'd outlive her husband.