What was the deadliest battle of world war two?

Operation Barbarossa was the code name for the Axis invasion of the Soviet Union. There were 1.4 million casualties over the course of this operation. As for a single battle, that would be Elsenborn Ridge (which was part of the Battle of the Bulge). Approximately 5,000 individuals were killed.