Why is bacon called bacon?

The word derives originally from the Old High German “bacho”, meaning “buttock”, By the 14th century, it found its way into Old French as “bacun”, meaning “back meat”. And by the 16th century, it found its way into Middle English as “bacoun”, which referred to all cured pork, not just the back.