How did the four sixers ranch get it's name?

The ranch was established by Samuel Burk Burnett in 1900 after he purchased the land from the Louisville Land and Cattle Company. Legend has it that he won the ranch from a card game, where he scored four sixes. Instead, the name comes from the first herd he raised, which was branded "6666".