What is it mean when you have a dream that you're falling?

Falling is a very prolific symbol in dreams. The experience can shock you and affect your waking day. Whether it’s real or perceived, falling in your dream usually represents a feeling of being overwhelmed. Maybe you’re experiencing a loss of control in one or more areas of your life.