What kills fruit flies?

I usually catch fruit flies by taking a small bowl with apple cider vinegar in it, stretching Saran wrap over the top and making it tight, kept in place with a rubberband. Poke 5-10 holes in the top with a toothpick. Place near where you're seeing fruit flies. The flies love it, and can't escape.