What are chuck shoes?

Chuck Taylor All Stars are made by Converse since 1962. Charles Hollis "Chuck" Taylor was an American basketball player and basketball shoe salesman and product marketer who is best known for his association with the Chuck Taylor All-Stars, which he helped to improve and promote.