What makes eyes blue?

People with blue eyes have no pigment at all in the front layer of the iris (called stroma), causing the fibers to scatter and absorb some of the longer wavelengths of light that come in. More blue light gets back out and the eyes appear to be blue.

---

Blue eyes get their color the same way water and the sky get their blue color. They scatter light so that more blue light reflects back out. They have a completely colorless stroma with no pigment at all.