How many milliliters of liquid can you bring on a plane?

According to the TSA, travelers are allowed to bring a quart sized bag of liquids with aerosols, gels, creams and pastes in a carry-on bag and through the check point. These are limited to travel sized containers of 3.4 ounces or 100 milliliters or less per item.