Why do your eyes turn red when you cry?

When we cry, our lacrimal glands have to produce tear fluid, a process supported by increased blood flow to our eyes. That's why your eyes get bloodshot and your pupils dilate. Our eyes also tend to puff up when we cry. The salt in tears leads to water retention and swelling around our eyes.