What's a hypoallergenic dog?

A hypoallergenic dog is one that is purportedly more compatible with allergic people. While there are no 100% hypoallergenic dogs, those that shed less are more likely to be hypoallergenic. Examples are the poodle, schnauzer, maltese, Portuguese Water Dog, and many terriors.