Why is baltimore called charm city?

In the mid 1970s, one of the city's ad agencies thought that Baltimore had much history and unspoiled charm. They decided to use that angle by encouraging visitors to buy a charm bracelet, and receive additional charms at each of the five promoted attractions they visited.

---

The nickname "Charm City" came from a 1975 meeting of advertisers seeking to improve the city's reputation