Where do peanuts come from?

The peanut plant flowers above the ground, but fruits below ground. Many people are surprised to learn that peanuts grow beneath the soil and do not grow on trees. They are grown in the warm climates of Asia, Africa, Australia, and North and South America. US has 3% of the world acreage of peanuts.