What is considered a hard freeze?

A drop in the temperature that is low enough and lasts long enough to destroy seasonal plants, create ice in standing bodies of water and ground freezing. In the US, a hard freeze is defined by a temperature of at least 28 °F (−2 °C) for a sufficient length of time during a growing season.