How heavy is a javelin?

Its overall length must be at least 260 cm (102.4 inches) and its weight at least 800 grams (1.8 pounds). The women's javelin is somewhat shorter and lighter—a minimum 220 cm (86.6 inches) long and 600 grams (1.3 pounds) in weight.