Why do they call cocktails cocktails?

According to Liquor.com, the word cocktail originated from the use of Ginger in the horse trade to sell an older horse. Ginger would be placed in the horse's butt, and it would cock its tail up and be frisky drawing an analogy with the effects of a mixed drink.