How much dry ginger equals fresh ginger?

When substituting ground dry ginger for fresh ginger in a recipe, use 1/4 teaspoon of ground ginger for every 1 tablespoon of fresh ginger. Keep in mind, however, that it doesn't work the other way around. That is, fresh ginger typically does not substitute for ginger powder in recipes.