How do the northern lights happen?

The Northern Lights form when charged particles emitted from the sun during a solar flare penetrate the earth's magnetic shield and collide with atoms and molecules in our atmosphere. These collisions result in countless little bursts of light, called photons, which make up the aurora.

---

By collisions between gaseous particles in the Earth's atmosphere with charged particles released from the sun. Variations in color are caused by the different types of gas particles that are colliding.