Why was forty six b. c. he called the year of confusion?

Julius Caesar added 3 extra months to recalibrate the calendar in preparation for his calendar reform, which went into effect in 45 BC. 46 BC therefore had 445 days, and was nicknamed the annus confusionis ("year of confusion") and serves as the longest recorded calendar year in human history.