Why is winter colder than summer?

The Earth is tilted on its axis, so during summer the sun’s rays hit Earth at a steep angle and the light does not spread out much, increasing the amount of energy hitting any given spot. Also, the long daylight hours allow the Earth time to reach warm temperatures. The reverse occurs in winter.