What is a hard freeze effect?

A hard freeze effect occurs when 3 things happen and result in the end of the growing season or destruction of new growth. First, the temperature is at or below 28 degrees farenheit for 2 or more hours. Second, the ground and surfaces freeze. Third, wind keeps warm air from settling to the ground.