What states were affected by the dust bowl?

One hundred million acres of the Southern Plains were turning into a wasteland of the Dust Bowl. Large sections of five states were affected — Texas, Oklahoma, Kansas, Colorado and New Mexico. In 1932, the national weather bureau reported 14 dust storms. The next year, they were up to 38.