What is the jellicle cat?

“Jellicle cats" are described in T.S. Eliot's poem "The Song of the Jellicles" nocturnal black and white, scruffy cats. In an unpublished poem by Eliot entitled "Pollicle Dogs and Jellicle Cats", "Pollicle dogs" is a corruption of "poor little dogs" and "Jellicle cats" of "dear little cats".