What does at sixes and nines mean?

“sixes and sevens" means a confused mess. The expression derives from an old dice game called hazard. Anyone wagering on these numbers was thought of as a fool, thus the link to the modern sense of confusion.

---

At sixes and nines means at a 45 degree angle from each other. The six on an analog clock is straight down, the nine is directly left horizontally.